picture of town fountain

Driving Safety Course

NEWS
EVENTS
MEETINGS
News Icon

November 2019 UPdate

News Icon

Oncor tree trimming northwest & central portion of UP - updated

News Icon

Updates on aggravated robbery at CVS/Mockingbird

News Icon

The Arbor - November 2019

News Icon

Centennial Master Plan Steering Committee Appointed

News Icon

HP & UP team up to provide more officers to HPISD schools.

Events Icon

Wednesday, November 20 at 3:45 p.m. - Preschool Story Time at UP Public Library.

Events Icon

Wednesday, November 20 at 5 p.m. - Court Night.

Events Icon

Thursday, November 21 at 10:45 a.m. - Toddler Story at UP Public Library.

Events Icon

Thursday, November 21 at 3:30 p.m. - STEAM Station at UP Public Library.

Events Icon

Friday, November 22 at 10:45 a.m. - Baby Story Time at UP Public Library.

Events Icon

Saturday, November 23 at 10 a.m. - STEAM Station at UP Public Library.

Meetings Icon

Tuesday, December 3, 2019 - City Council Meeting

VIEW ALL NEWS VIEW ALL EVENTS VIEW ALL MEETINGS

Under the laws of the State of Texas, you may be able to request that one moving violation charge be dismissed by completing a (DSC) Driving Safety Course.  You may submit your request on or before the appearance date in person or by certified mail.  Do not take a driving safety course without first obtaining permission from the Court. 

The Court is not allowed to recommend a specific driving safety school, but it can refer you to your local phone directory, an internet search, or your local video rental store.  The driving safety course must be approved by the Texas Education Agency.
 

Eligibility Guidelines:
  1. Enter a plea of guilty or no contest
  2. Have a valid Texas Driver License
  3. Present proof of Financial Responsibility (insurance)
  4. You have not taken a driving safety course for ticket dismissal within the past 12 months prior to the date of your citation
  5. Pay court costs and administrative fee
You are not eligible to request a DSC if you:
  1. Hold a Commercial Driver License
  2. Were charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
  3. Were charged with a serious violation such as:
    • Speeding in a construction zone 
    • Passing a school bus
    • Reckless driving
    • Accident involving damage to a vehicle

Once the court gives their approval, you will have 90 days to complete the course, obtain a certified copy of your driving record and submit the affidavit.  Upon successful completion and return of your documents on or before the assigned date, your citation will be dismissed.  To view or print the required forms click on:
 

Affidavit Driving Safety Course

Driving Record Application
 

You may request your driving record online by clicking here
 
Failure to Complete

If you fail to complete any of the requirements by your due date, your case will be set for a Show Cause Hearing.  A letter will be mailed to the address on your citation.  If you fail to appear at the Hearing a judgment will be imposed.  You will have ten days from the hearing date to either pay or appeal the judgment before a Capias Profine Warrant is processed.  Waiving your Show Cause Hearing and paying the remaining balance will result in a final conviction.