Citizen of the Year


Citizen of the Year 2017
Nomination process runs from April 1 to June 1, 2017 


The Citizen of the Year award was created by the City Council in 2005 to boost public awareness and appreciation for the many residents who work, often behind the scenes, to better the City's quality of life.  Nominees for Citizen of the Year must:

  • Be a University Park resident;
  • Have worked to improve the quality of life in University Park.
Current and former Mayors and Councilmembers are not eligible for this award.  If you have questions about the nomination process, please call Steve Mace at 214-987-5301 or email him at:  

A resident panel will select and notify the 2017 honoree the week of June 12.  Along with riding in the July 4 Parade, the honoree will be presented with a plaque and a special Citizen of the Year gift during a post-parade ceremony at the Goar Park Gazebo.

Complete the application form and submit it online.

2017 Application Form

Past Citizen of the Year Recipients:

2016 - Eddy Moore
2015 - Byron Egan
2014 - Youth Advisory Commission
2013 - Bill Skelton
2012 - Connie O'Neill
2011 - Jim and Judy Gibbs
2010 - Max Fuqua
2009 - Nancy Egan
2008 - Chris Murzin
2007 - Bill Pardoe
2006 - Diane Galloway
2005 - Elizabeth Farley